top of page

An Interview with Ankita Singh

Updated: Aug 24, 2019


Ankita Singh

Ankita Singh released her book Two Girls In Love on April 20th 2019. It is wonderful to watch the level of acceptance that India is expressing when it comes to lgbtqia2+ communities and all-the-more wonderful to watch young people to take these brave steps by spreading awareness and make everyone feel comfortable in their own skin. Ankita Sigh is one such individual and Books R&B was ecstatic when she agreed to share her side of the story and help spread a cognizant welcoming mindset. Here's what she has to say:



Synopsis of the book by Ankita Singh:


Two Girls In Love is the story of a young, Indian woman, written in the form of poetic diary entries. It follows her journey from the moment she realizes that she's free to be with whomever she wants to be with and that no law would stop her anymore.

Two Girls In Love is short, like a few pages torn out of someone's diary. But it tells a heartwarming tale of being true to yourself in a place where the people still may not be ready to accept you for who you are.

It's a story of hope, of love, of true friendships...it's the story of two girls who are so in love with each other.




The Interview:


Tell us a little about your novel.

It's actually a story-in-verses called “Two Girls In Love.” It's a collection of poems that tell the tale of a girl as she pens the poems down in her diary. It's the story of a gay girl coming to terms with the fact that she is no longer restricted by the law to be her true self. At the same time, she deals with the fact that though the law has decriminalized homosexuality, the people still consider it as a taboo. You'll need to read the book to find out how she tackles these challenges!


What’s your proudest achievement to date as an indian author?

I guess it's the fact that I've been able to spread some awareness about the lgbtqia2+ community among the people of India. But I felt the most proud when my mother gave a positive response to Two Girls In Love. It felt really good to know that my book had managed to change the views of at least one person.


What’s the single best decision you ever made?

Professionally? I think it would be my decision to self publish. I'm glad I didn't wait around to find a traditional publisher, because seeing my books out there, making a difference is the best feeling ever.

Personally? It would be my decision to come out to my friends and my mother. I feel as if a weight has been lifted from my shoulders and I'm glad to have such amazing people in my life.


What’s your greatest challenge – and how do you deal with it?

My greatest challenge in terms of writing is consistency. I lack the determination to write every day. I try my best to write daily, but sometimes the muse seems to evade me.

I use challenges (NaNoWriMo, anyone?) and prompts as a way to keep writing everyday, consistently.


How do you remain productive/motivated?

I just dream about seeing the book on a shelf someday, and that keeps me motivated to keep writing. I also have some really good friends who help me to keep going.

I also set daily word goals in order to stay productive. It helps a lot, trust me.


What’s your favourite thing about being an author?

That's a simple one! My favourite thing about being an author is the independence of it. My characters can do anything, be anyone and I love that freedom. No other job gives you the freedom writing does. You're free to create worlds, words, creatures and basically anything. And that's why I love my job so much.


Could you talk about the history of the genre a little?

Two Girls In Love is a lgbtqia2+ story-in-verses; and both of these genres have been very prominent in recent times. I've read a lot of lgbtqia2+ books in the past year, but very few from my own country. That's why, I wanted to write something in that genre, and so I did.


What are your thoughts on the country's level of acceptance of this genre ?

I guess India still has a long way to go in terms of accepting the lgbtqia2+ community as a part of their society. As an equal. But the amount of love and support I've seen in the reviews of Two Girls In Love makes me really hopeful about the future of this community and genre in India.


Where do you get your inspiration from ?

Anywhere and everywhere. Two Girls In Love was inspired from my own feelings and struggle, while Scattered Constellations was an amalgamation of fiction and my own experiences. The fantasy novel I'm working on and another idea I got yesterday where both inspired from early morning dreams. As I said, inspiration strikes from anywhere.


Has elements of your experience been added in the book as well?

Definitely. The first half of Two Girls In Love is pretty much what I went through after the decriminalization of Homosexuality in India. The second half is fiction, or wishful thinking maybe. But the struggles expressed in the first half of the book are all real and based on my own struggles.


What is in store for you next?

I'm currently working on a fantasy novel which is in its third draft stage. It's got Nephilim, Fae people, winged villains and a whole lot of YA adventure.

About the author:

Ankita, though lives in the historical city of Aurangabad, spends most of her time between the pages of a book. If she's not reading, she can be found scribbling ideas into her journal or petting her cat, Harry.


Ankita's debut poetry collection, Scattered Constellations, ranked number one on Amazon's bestseller list within a week of its release.


Ankita is currently working towards getting a Major in English from the IGNOU University.

She is also an avid bookstagrammer at Anky's Book Bubble, a bookstagram where all she talks about is books! She loves interacting with her fellow bibliophiles, so don't hesitate in contacting her through any of the below ways: Website, Facebook page, Twitter, Instagram, Email and Goodreads!

Books R&B is proud of Ankita for owning her truth and wishes her all the best with her future endeavors!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page