top of page

An Interview with Donnalyn Vojta


Donnalyn Vojta

Thriller authors are some of the most interesting people in ti=he world and Donnalyn is one such author who is wonderful and a pleasure to converse with. She is not just easy to talk to but also very fast and professional respondent. It was a joy to score an interview with her and Books R&B couldn't be happier. Make sure to check out her novels: Hope in Paris! and Chloe's Crusade.

The Interview:


1. Congratulations on the success of your novel. Why don’t you introduce it to the readers here?


Thank you so much. Right now, the first two volumes of a three part series are out. They are crime thrillers with an element of magical realism which means that while the story takes place in our contemporary real world, there is a twist of magic as well. In the Teddy Bear Chronicles I tell suspenseful adult-themed crime stories, but they are narrated by sweet and somewhat naive inanimate household teddy bears whose thoughts and opinions of the events are part of the reader's wild ride through the plots. 2. When was the first time this story came to you ?  


It was about three years ago when I was looking at my own little blue teddy bear which has relatively detailed eye buttons with black pupils and a lighter iris. They looked so realistic that I wondered, wouldn't it be interesting if these quiet little teddy bears actually watched their humans and had opinions about us? What would they see and understand? Would they judge us?  That was the moment! 3. What was the biggest challenge for you while writing the novel ?


Organizing the the various smaller plots with the overarching plot to weave them together into a way that would keep books exciting along the long road to final resolution of the main plot. I can't tell you how many times I had to revise, add, delete, re-organize, etc. to get it just right for my anticipated audience. 4. How incredible has the journey been post the release of the book ?


It's been uplifting to say the least! I am a huge fan of movies because I love the experience of taking in a story and feeling the emotions of the characters and excitement of the plots, whether they scare me, thrill me or make me happy. The same could be said about novels, so when I began receiving lots of 5-start reviews of my books, I finally knew that I had put something out there to give the same enjoyable experience that I love so much. That made me extremely happy!

5. How did the idea of diversifying the characters come to mind ?


I suppose I feel that everyone has flaws and strengths, so I thought my readers would be able to relate well to one or more of my characters because we all struggle with how to cope with our weaknesses at the same time we are trying to find and use our strengths. Some of us need more help than others, and when we accept that as being normal and not a fault, we can seek out help or help others; then, all people can feel a little less insecure and little stronger. That's just how I see things. 

6. Any early influences that you can point to?


Just that I was always a daydreamer, trying to imagine amazing stories that made me feel happy inside, so I suppose my own thoughts influenced me to write fiction. Of course, I daydreamed in school a lot, much to the chagrin of my teachers and parents, so that was bad! 7. You seem to have had a way to play with emotions, how do you make that happen?


I am one of those "too empathetic" people who deeplyfeels the emotions of others. Some attribute that to my being a Pisces (known to be overly sensitive) and some say it's the type of brain I have, but I don't really know why. I just know what has to happen to make me feel various types of emotions, so I tried to write events and character relationships that would move me to the emotional reaction that I want my readers to experience, just hoping that approach would work.  8. What can we expect in the sequels? 


I am currently working on the last volume, and I think the fans of Volumes I and II will not be disappointed. I know that they expect characters with unique personalities and interesting or larger-than-life backgrounds along with a story to keep them on the edge-of their seats. I also know they love the shocking or thrilling endings, so I must give them that in this last one. I already know how I will end it, and I think my readers will be more than pleased. At least, I hope so! 9. Will you be sticking to suspense or can we expect different genre of writing from you in the future?


I don't foresee writing stories other than suspense any time soon, but I never say never. The next novel I plan to launch, after Teddy Bear Chronicles, is a contemporary paranormal thriller which is almost half-written already. It will be unique among ghost stories to be sure fans of my writing are not let down by a typical paranormal story. Of course, I will not give any details on my exact plan to make it surprising. Everyone will just have to read it!  10. What would a positive women such as yourself advise to aspiring female writers?


Well, I suppose, if you have a story burning inside you, then tell it in writing whether it's a short story, novella or full book. It can be exhilarating and liberating. There is a huge market for female writers right now, too, so women should not be afraid to take a chance!! 



Donnalyn's novel Hope in Paris" won several official award recognition - Quarterfinalist in the 2018 SCREENCRAFT Cinematic Novel Contest and was a Top Finalist in the 2018 Eyelands Book Awards (international competition).  Furthermore, two prominent film producers are considering the Hope in Paris! screenplay right now for possible feature film production! Brandon Cliffe (of New Traditions Publishing) and she co-wrote the script adaptation that they are reviewing.



You can check out her website here !

Both of her books are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository and almost any other online book retailer. They are also on Goodreads.com with an average rating of 4.5/5 Stars!  The audiobook of Hope in Paris! will soon be available on Amazon as well. 

Books R&B hopes the best for her work in all the endeavors!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page