top of page

Turtles All the Way Down: Review

Updated: Dec 17, 2020


Genre: Young adult fiction| Pages: 286


Star rating:

Synopsis of the novel:

The story centers on 16-year-old American Aza Holmes, a high school student with OCD and anxiety, and her search for a fugitive billionaire. She is grieving the loss of her father while a budding relationship grows between her and a neighbor. Additionally, the novel explores Aza's relationship with her best friend, Daisy. The only other details of the plot revealed to the public before release were that it was to contain, either literally or figuratively, a tuatara, Star Wars fan fiction, an unexpected reunion, friendship, and values of life.


To be completely honest, if I've picked up a book voluntarily, I end up falling in love with it. I usually read a lot of reviews before picking up a book and rarely go wrong with it. Turtles All the Way Down has been one such book! I asked my Instafam on @booksrandb if I should start posting my reviews of books that didn't come in as a request and a large population said yes, so here it goes!


But before that, if this is your first time on Books R&B, then check out my reviewing style to just get a feel of it!


My Review:

I recently laid hands on a new kindle and really wanted to pick out a book that I've been meaning to read for quite sometime ( despite the stack of "TBRs" lying around the house. Hey! The heart wants what the heart wants, right?) and man did I love this book. I know that I was late to the party and a lot of people finished this several months ago. This book has a sense of familiarity that I could relate to it or was reminded of someone who had similar patterns. The health anxiety, the paranoia is all too familiar.


This book is your typical "girl coming of age" crime/mystery novel with a twist of real life relate-able issues that all of us as a society has begin to address and acknowledge. John walks you through the day-to-day life of a girl with anxiety issues by being inside her head throughout and relate to a lot of metaphors that she uses quite often while telling her side of the story. The level at which she deals with this mental issue is not even funny and it would make anyone feel sad for her. Self absorbed as she may seem for no fault of hers, but I can also understand what her friend, Daisy must have been through ( even though, she may come off as bitchy sometimes). I finished this book within two days and was filled with overwhelming thoughts about people around me who deal with similar situations.


If you're someone who is dealing with anxiety or know someone who is or you just want to know what it feels like, this book is for you! Simple, yet complete!



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page